Online citations, reference lists, and bibliographies.
Referencing for people who value simplicity, privacy, and speed.
Get Citationsy
← Back to Search

Chemical And Electrochemical Reduction Of Pyrazino[2,3-g]quinoxalines And Of Their Benzo And Dibenzo Derivatives; The Structure Of Fluorindine And The Formation Of Tetraanion

Joseph Armand, Line Boulares, Christian Bellec, Jean Pinson

Save to my Library
Download PDF
Analyze on Scholarcy Visualize in Litmaps
Reduce the time it takes to create your bibliography by a factor of 10 by using the world’s favourite reference manager
Time to take this seriously.
Get Citationsy
The structure of fluorindine is established by nmr as the 5,14-dihydroquinoxalino[2,3-b]phenazine. The catalytic hydrogenation of 2,3-di(p-methoxyphenyl)pyrazino[2,3-b]phenazine 2a leads to the 6,11-dihydro derivative 4a. The electrochemical reduction in an hydroorganic medium furnishes 4a and then the 1,4,6,11-tetrahydro derivative 8a. In dry DMSO the voltammogram shows four monoelectronic reversible systems corresponding to the successive formation of a radical anion, dianion, radical trianion, and tetraanion. Thus 2a appears as a new example of the very restricted class of compounds leading to tetraanions upon electrochemical reduction. The catalytic hydrogenation of 2,7-diphenylpyrazino[2,3-g]quinoxaline 1a or the reaction of LiAlH4 with 1,2,7,8-tetramethylpyrazino[2,3-g]quinoxaline 1b leads to 1,2,3,4-tetrahydro compounds. The electrochemical reduction of 1a and 1b in hydroorganic medium leads successively to 1,4-dihydro and then to 1,4,6,9-tetrahydro compounds which undergo a further rearrangement. In dry DMSO 1a and 1b behave differently from 2a: one only observes two reversible monoelectronic systems.